5th Annual Gold Star Awards Luncheon

April 14,2004

Worthington, Ohio


Ohio Gold Star Award Program



Hosted by the Ohio Chapters of NENA and APCO







     Mr. Jay Somerville, President Ohio Chapter of APCO, Communications Supervisor, City of Dublin Police Communications


   Presentation of Colors


     Washington Township Fire Department Color Guard National Anthem — Mr. Mel Meloy , Fairfield County Sheriffs Office




     Sergeant Craig Hungler, Dublin Division of Police




   Introduction of Keynote Speaker Mr. Jay Somerville


   Keynote Speaker


     Ms Wanda McCarley

     APCO International, Second Vice President

     Tarrant County Texas 9-1-1— District


   Sponsor Recognition


     Mr. Greg Wenz, Chair - Ohio Gold Star Awards Program, Operation Director—Hamilton County Communications Center


   Award Presentations— sponsored by Verizon Mr. Jay Somerville, Emcee


Gold Star Certificates

Double Gold Award - Dispatch Teams

Solid Gold - Ohio Telecommunicator of the Year


   Benediction Sergeant Craig Hungler



     “God Bless America” Mr. Mel Meloy, Communications Supervisor Fairfield County Sheriffs Office


Seated at the Head Table: Sergeant Craig Bungler. Carol Armitage, Jay Somerville, Wanda McCarley, Greg Wenz





We welcome you to the 2003 Gold Star Awards Program. It is with great pleasure that the Ohio Chapters of A PCO and NENA welcome the recipients oft he Gold Star Awards and their guests. All of the nominees should feel honored and everyone is a winner. Making a selec­tion of this type is very difficult since all the telecommuni­cators in the State do an outstanding job every single day. Every telecommunicator has handled calls during the year

that would be award winning. Additionally, the service they provide to the public on a daily basis makes everyone

in the State of Ohio a winner.

We extend a special thanks to the 2003 Gold Star Awards Committee who has worked hard to prepare for today’s event. They have devoted much time and energy to make this special recognition a success. We thank the supervisors and administrators for all the superb nomina­tions that they offered.

We also want to acknowledge the corporate spon­sors for their generous financial support of the Gold Star Program, as well as for their continuous support for APCO and NENA.

To all the nominees, on behalf of NENA and APCO, we offer our sincere congratulations, appreciation, and thanks for jobs well done.




Carol Armitage President, Ohio Chapter NENA      Jay Somerville President, Ohio Chapter APCO



Ohio NENA Board



Carol Armitage, Defiance County Communications


Vice President

Wanda Steiner, City of Akron



Monte Diegel, Mercer County Sheriff’s Office Central Dispatch



Valerie DeRose, Summit County Emergency Management

Ohio Chapter of APCO. Executive Board



Jay Somerville, Dublin Division of Police


1st Vice President

Holly E. Wayt City of Westerville Communications


2nd Vice President

Matt Franke, City of Oxford Police



Danielle J. Howe, Lucas County Emergency Services


Executive Council Representative

Lynne Feller, Wayne County Justice Center




The Gold Star Awards committee would like to thank the following people for their support and participation in the program.

Ms Wanda McCarley

The Washington Township Fire Department Color Guard

The Gold Star Selectien Committee

Sergeant Craig Hungler

Mr. Mel Meloy

Mr. Jay Somerville

Ms. Carol Armitage




2003 Gold Star Certificates


Radio Dispatcher Tonya Birchfield

Ohio State Patrol, Granville Post


Radio Dispatcher I Laura Brooks Ohio State Patrol, Delaware Post


Radio Dispatcher Judith Bumbalough

Ohio State Patrol, Georgetown Post


Police Dispatcher Robed Bunce Jr.

City of Maumee Police Division


Fire Dispatcher Shonna Doran

Toledo Fire and Rescue


Radio Dispatcher Jill Ehrhart Ohio State Patrol, Bucyrus Post


Communications Technician Marie Hayden

Lancaster Police Department


Radio Dispatcher Rhonda Macarthy

Ohio State Patrol, District Ten


Radio Dispatcher Toni Proffer Ohio State Patrol, Marietta Post


Radio Dispatcher Nathan Schwind Ohio State Patrol, West Jefferson Post


Dispatcher Sharon Susor

City of Oregon Police and Fire



2003 Double Gold Awards


Team Award




Defiance County Communications


Communications Officer Stacie Fedderke

Communications Officer Stacy Flores

Communications Officer Lori Hanenkrath

Communications Officer McBride

Communications Officer Trilby Schohl

Communications Officer Anita Thompson


For the management of a huge industrial fire at a 300,000 square foot Johns Manville facility in Defiance on May 16, 2003. These team members heard of the event and came to work! The incident involved a large-scale evacuation and termination of rail and air traf­fic until the fire was contained.



Mercer County Sheriff’s Office Central Dispatch


Dispatcher Connie Cook

Dispatcher Leah Cramer

Dispatcher Ed Weirrick

Dispatcher Kelly Westgerdes

Dispatcher Lori Yaney


During a 5-day period, beginning July 4, 2003, Mercer County re­ceived up to 21 inches of rainfall. At one point more roads were closed than open in Mercer County. This team worked during the busiest time frame ever for the Communications Center. The team logged numerous overtime hours to process the calls. During the time not one life was lost due to the flood.





Delaware City Police Department

Dispatcher Judy Fitzgerald

Dispatcher Sharon Sullivan


Mentor Police and Fire Department

Communications Technician Anne Duncan

Communications Technician Michele Earney

Communications Technician Jackie Harless

Communications Technician Deb Kloski

Communications Technician Dawn Mighton

Communications Technician Linda Speck

Communications Technician Jeanne Stitzei

Communications Technician Millard Woods


Ohio State Patrol Canton Post

Communications Technician I Timothy Cardes

Radio Dispatcher Denise Peterson

Radio Dispatcher Dma Slager

Radio Dispatcher Shelley Uhlir


Ohio State Patrol

Radio Dispatcher Gabrielle Johnson, Sandusky Post

Radio Dispatcher Suzanne Phillips, Norwalk Post


Pickerington Police Department

Dispatcher Courtney Rooker

Dispatcher Greg Seymour


Wayne County Justice Center Communications

Communications Officer Mark Bartholomew

Dispatcher Melissa Campbell

Dispatcher Teresa Fiscus

Lead Communications Officer Ron McCallum

Dispatcher Andy Thornton



2003 Solid Gold Award




Ohio Telecommunicator of the Year


Communications Operator Shaun Braden

City of Toledo Police Department

For quick thinking, recognizing the voice of two callers as being the same person which resulted in the call­ers arrest for a homicide





9-1-1 Dispatcher Angela Bzdak


Lorain County 9-1-1


Dispatcher Diana Collins


West Carrollton Police


Communications Dispatcher Laurie Grener


Grove City Police Department


Communications Officer DeMerrill Knaul


Marion Police Department Communications


Radio Dispatcher Douglas Macarthy

Ohio State Patrol, Elyria Post


Radio Dispatcher Sharon Moore


Ohio State Patrol, Ravenna Post


Dispatcher Wendy Morris

Moraine Police Department


Dispatcher Lynne Rice

Hancock County Sheriffs Office


Gold Star Awards Supporting Sponsors

The Gold Star Committee is extremely grateful to these compa­nies for their sponsorship of the Ohio Gold Star Awards Program. Their generosity allows the recognition of our Ohio heroes. Thank you very much.



Nominee’s shirts



Door prize




Nonspecific contribution



Nonspecific contribution



Trophies, plaques and certificates


The following vendors also provided items for the nominee’s


APCO International


Ohio Chapter of NENA


Public Safety Group

Public Safety Training Consultants