6th Annual Gold Star Awards Luncheon

April 13,2005

Worthington, Ohio


Ohio Gold Star Award Program


Hosted by the Ohio Chapters of NENA and APCO



      Mr. Jay Somerville, President Ohio Chapter of APCO, Communications Supervisor, City of Dublin Police Communications

 • Presentation of Colors

      City of Wooster Police Department Honor Guard

      National Anthem — Mr. Mel Meloy, Fairfield County Sheriffs Office

 • Invocation

      Sergeant Craig Hungler, Dublin Division of Police

 • Lunch

 •  Introduction of Keynote Speaker

     Mr. William Hinkle, Director of Hamilton County Communications Center

 •  Keynote Speaker

     State Representative Larry L. Flowers, Fairfield County



   Sponsor Recognition

     Mr. Greg Wenz, Chair - Ohio Gold Star Awards Program, Operation Director—Hamilton County Communications Center

   Award Presentations— Mr. Jay Somerville, Emcee


Gold Star Certificates

Double Gold Award - Dispatch Teams

Solid Gold - Ohio Telecommunicator of the Year

 •  Benediction Sergeant Craig Hungler

 •  Closing

     “God Bless America” Mr. Mel Meloy, Communications Supervisor Fairfield County Sheriffs Office

 Seated at the Head Table: Sergeant Craig Hungler. Carol Armitage, Jay Somerville, Representative Larry Flowers, William Hinkle, Greg Wenz

We welcome you to the 2004 Gold Star Awards Program. It is with great pleasure that the Ohio Chapters of APCO and NENA welcome the recipients of the Gold Star Awards and their guests. All of the nominees should feel honored and everyone is a winner. Making a selec­tion of this type is very difficult since all the Telecommunicator in the State do an outstanding job every single day. Every Telecommunicator has handled calls during the year that would be award winning. Additionally, the service they provide to the public on a daily basis makes everyone in the State of Ohio a winner.

We extend a special thanks to the 2004 Gold Star Awards Committee who has worked hard to prepare for today’s event. They have devoted much time and energy to make this special recognition a success. We thank the supervisors and administrators for all the superb nomina­tions that they offered.

We also want to acknowledge the corporate spon­sors for their generous financial support of the Gold Star Program, as well as for their continuous support for APCO and NENA.

To all the nominees, on behalf of NENA and APCO, we offer our sincere congratulations, appreciation, and thanks for jobs well done. 


Carol Armitage President, Ohio Chapter NENA     

Jay Somerville President, Ohio Chapter APCO




Ohio NENA Board



Carol Armitage, Defiance County Communications

Vice President

Wanda Steiner, City of Akron


Monte Diegel, Mercer County Sheriff’s Office Central Dispatch


Valerie DeRose, Summit County       Emergency Management

Ohio Chapter of APCO. Executive Board



Jay Somerville, Dublin Division of Police

1st Vice President

Holly E. Wayt City of Westerville Communications

2nd Vice President

Matt Franke, City of Oxford Police


Danielle J. Klavinger, Lucas County Emergency Services

Executive Council Representative

Lynne Feller, Wayne County Justice Center


The Gold Star Awards committee would like to thank the following people for their support and participation in the program.

State Representative Larry Flowers

The City of Wooster Police Department Honor Guard

Sergeant Craig Hungler

Mr. Mel Meloy

The Gold Star selection committee

Mr. Jay Somerville

Ms. Carol Armitage

Mr. Mike Banks

Ms. Valerie DeRose


2004 Gold Star Certificates

Dispatcher Shirley Bundschu, Canfield Police Department

Dispatcher Tracy Clark, Grove City Police Department

Radio Dispatcher Jill Erhardt, OSHP Bucyrus Post

Training Coordinator Mory Fuhrmann, Mifflin Township Division of Fire, Metropolitan Emergency Communicatons Center

Dispatcher Margaret Frederick, Whitehall Division of Police

Dispatcher Teresa Gladden, Delaware Police Department

Communications Officer Amber Guthrie, Athens Police Department

9-1-1 Dispatcher Patricia Hunkler, Fairfield Police Department

Telecommunicator Richie Kilgour, Fulton County 9-1-1

Communications Technician Connie Laveck, Lancaster Police Department

Radio Dispatcher Rhonda Macarthy, OSHP Berea Post

Communications Technician Mike Pineault, Dublin Police Communications

Radio Dispatcher Catherine Routte, OSHP West Jefferson Post




2004 Double Gold Awards

Team Award winner

Hamilton County Communications Center

Communications Officers:

Jackie Bray

Denise Brown

Patty Craven

Shawn Cruze

Dawn Koking

Matt Knutson

Andy Moore

Keith Phillips

Joe Siefert

Valerie Seikman

Don Smith

Amber Young

For skilled management, compassion and extra effort during a search for a confused and disoriented motorist experiencing an insulin reaction on December 9, 2004.  The team used what little information they had to finally locate the driver about 10 miles from where they thought he was based on cell tower data.  Communications Officer Koking continued to search when she was off duty.  The caller was transported to the hospital where he recovered. 



Clermont County Communications Center


Anita Brill

Dave Chaney

Dominick Daulton

Tonya Goodman

Debbie Hamm

Pam Iker

Ron Kyer

Jim Lungmus

Stacy McCue

Cindy Moermand

Jason Noonan

Richard Pierce

Melissa Scalf

Mabel Sheppard

Steve Weber


Galen Williams

Brenda Durham

Barb Davis

Fairfield County Sheriff’s Office


Angela Fleming

Elizabeth Maple

Melissa Mock

Davita Willis


Fairfield Police Department

9-1-1 Dispatcher Lori Baughman

9-1-1 Dispatcher John Meyer


Mifflin Twp. Division of Fire, Metropolitan Emergency Communications Center


Stan Broadway

Mory Fuhrmann

Matt Ruthers

Susan Wilson


North Central EMS

Emergency Medical Dispatcher Chris Cammalleri

Emergency Medical Dispatcher/Paramedic Tommy Johnson


Northeast Communications Center


Les Allen

Melissa Kyer

Harry Lofland

Jody Pettyjohn

Lorna Rose

Chris Skinner

Jennifer Spradlin





2004 Solid Gold Award  

Ohio Telecommunicator of the Year  

Communications Operator Tricia Snyder

City of Cuyahoga Falls Police Department

For exceptional skill getting a 9 year old to safety following a double homicide that he witnessed 


Radio Dispatcher Gricel Camacho, OSHP Dayton Post

Radio Dispatcher Karen Collins, OSHP Communications Center

Communications Specialist Nancy Coppock, Miami Township Police Department

Chief Dispatcher Pat Emrisko, Newburgh Heights Police Department

Public Safety Dispatcher Sharon Jeziorski, North Olmstead Police Department

Radio Dispatcher Pamela Kelly, OSHP Xenia Post

Dispatcher Bridget Lahowe, Lakewood Police Department

Communications Officer Mary Lute, Hancock County Sheriff’s Office

Radio Dispatcher Dane Mowen, OSHP Dayton Post

Radio Dispatcher Rhonda Noblick, OSHP Granville Post

Dispatcher/Clerk Nadean Peger, Olmstead Falls Police Department

Call Taker Kathy Price, Delaware County 9-1-1

Radio Dispatcher Davius Reichelderfer, OSHP Marion Post

Dispatcher Rachel Sullivan, Van Wert Police Department

Dispatcher Catherine Wiltrout, Strongsville Police Department



Gold Star Awards Supporting Sponsors

The Gold Star Committee is extremely grateful to these compa­nies for their sponsorship of the Ohio Gold Star Awards Program. Their generosity allows the recognition of our Ohio heroes. Thank you very much.



Gifts for Nominee’s



Nominee’s shirts



Nonspecific contribution



Nonspecific contribution


The following vendors also provided items for the nominee’s


B & C Communications

Motorola, Inc.

Reverse 9-1-1