Ohio NENA/APCO Chapter Meeting

February 13, 2008



President’s Diegel & Wayt opened the meeting.  The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Jim Eggeman.


President Diegel requested a motion to dispense with the reading of the minutes from November and accept them as posted on the web site.  Bo Keck, Muskingum County made the motion, 2nd by Valerie DeRose, Summit County.  Motion carried.


Treasurer Valerie DeRose, Summit County gave the treasurer’s report.  The report was also available on a handout in the back.  (Checking balance $1219.27, Savings $5076.80, Total available balance $6296.07). Bo Keck made a motion to approve, 2nd by Ron Bien, motion carried.


National Office Update : Bob Currier


William M. McMurray, ENP Memorial Scholarship: Open to any NENA member in good standing in the public sector who has never attended an annual conference.  The scholarship include conference registration fee and four nights of lodging at a conference hotel.  Travel expenses and meals are not included. 


Chapter Membership Challenge: fully paid education program to state conference ($4000 value) will be awarded to the chapter with the most total membership increase and to the chapter with the largest percentage increase of membership.


Two new technical standards adopted-network and call delivery.


911 Goes to Washington: Mr. Currier commended the Ohio NENA Chapter for their efforts with 911 Goes to Columbus in December 2007


National Conference : Tampa in June 2008


New NENA Officers were sworn in.   Kim Brandt, President; Rose Chambers, Vice President; Anne Barr, Secretary; District 1, Brad Brubaker;



District Reports:

1: Brad Brubaker : No report

2: Bob Emmons: Absent

3: Ron Bien: No report

4: Bo Keck: 2 Counties still without 911 Service (Meigs & Monroe); Franklin County is working on Phase II but experiencing a few problems; Muskingum County will be implementing Pictometry Countywide soon. 


Legislative Committee: Ken Borror

120-130 people attended 911 Goes to Columbus press conference in December.  There does appear to be a commitment in the Senate to extend the sunset provision however there may be an issue with VoIP language being removed. 


Training Committee: Mike Banks

The training committee has been able to reach approximately 470 dispatchers with the free training.  $500 has been raised in donations for the 2009 Gold Star Program.  Training scheduled in Wood County for March 13 and Mercer County will be conducting their free in service on April 23.  Mike announced he will be stepping down as chairperson of the committee and handing it over to Anne Barr.  Anyone interested in hosting a training class should contact one of the committee members.


TERT Committee: Holly Wayt

Committee is looking for volunteers to serve on their committee. Contact Carolyn Fergus if interested.


Gold Star Awards: Greg Wenz

Luncheon will be April 16, 2008 at noon at Crowne Plaza Hotel off Busch Blvd.  Lunch is $20.  2007 Winner: Team award – City of Westerville, Telecommunicator of the Year – Brunswick PD.  Keynote Speaker will be Lt. Rance from OSP.


Conference Committee: Rose Chambers

Date for the 2009 Conference is March 22-March 25, 2009.  Theme will be
“Cruising Into the Future”.  Hotel has not been confirmed.  If anyone is interested in being on the Conference Committee contact Rose at 419-354-9137 or email at cjfd7812@yahoo.com.


Next Meeting Date is Wednesday May 14, 2008


Future Meeting Dates: September 10 and November 12.


Mike Dolhancryk, Trumbull County made a motion to adjourn, 2nd by Rose Chambers.  Motion carried.