Ohio NENA Chapter Meeting

November 2, 2005

Signature Inn, Columbus


The November 2, 2005 Ohio NENA Chapter meeting was called to order by President Carol Armitage followed by the pledge of allegiance.


PRESENTATION: There was a presentation by Dublin PD dispatchers Carolyn Fergus and Ben Karns on their deployment to New Orleans after hurricane Katrina. Carolyn and Ben spent several days working in a makeshift dispatch center assisting with the dispatching duties. Ben and Carolyn are to be commended for representing Ohio dispatchers well. The presentation was very well done.


PRESENTATION: There was a presentation by Pat Anderson regarding SBC VoIP implementation guidelines.


APPROVAL OF MINUTES: There was a short discussion on the minutes if the previous meeting. MOTION to approve by Mel Meloy; 2nd by Chris Burkhart; MOTION PASSED.


APPROVAL OF TREASURER REPORT: Val DeRose- Checking balance: $716.63; Savings balance: $5,347.87; Total balance: $6,064.50. MOTION to approve report: Mel Meloy; 2nd by Greg Wenz; MOTION PASSED.




_    Discussed wireless information

_    Discussion on TERT meeting in Greensboro, NC

_    Discussed legislation and National NENA involvement

_    Discussed VoIP standards and NENA.

_    Discussed upcoming National NENA activities including TDC in Orlando in 2006; Annual NENA Conference will be held in Pittsburgh in June 2006.




District 1- Kim Brandt- Reported that Defiance County is one of first agencies in the state to submit updated 911 plans.


District 2- Bob Emmons- Geauga County has new PSAP at the sheriff’s office; Columbiana County hoping to cut in new 911 yet this year or very early 2006.


District 3- Ron Bien- No report.


District 4-Bo Keck- Monroe and Miegs Counties still have no 911.





LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEE- Ken Borror & Bill Hinkle- Ken and Bill recently met with representative Flowers regarding SB9. Ken is hoping that the legislation will pass by the end on the month. Bill Hinkle discussed possible update of Ohio Telecommunicators Legislation (Senate bill 5). The APCO Training Committee is interested in reviewing the legislation for possible updates.


CONFERENCE COMMITTEE- Mel Meloy- The next state conference will be held on March 25-28, 2007 qt the Holiday Inn Worthington. Mel will be re-activating the conference committee in the near future. Looking for committee members and vendors for the 2007 conference.


GOLD STAR COMMITTEE-Greg Wenz-Gold Star will be a stand alone event at the Columbus Marriott. Greg is still looking for a keynote speaker for the event. Nomination forms are still being accepted.




Shawn Smith, Ohio 911 Coordinator: Cellular money is ready to distribute as soon as counties submit their updated 911 plans. At minimum the county 911 plan must be accepted by the governing bodies that represent 60% of the county population. Shawn is working on administrative rules. The office is also working on establishing a web site that will be in service very soon.




Swearing in of new officers: Wanda Steiner (President. Wanda was absent from meeting and will be sworn in at a future meeting): Monte Diegel (Vice President); Kim Brandt (Secretary); Brad Brubaker (District 1 Representative); Ron Bien (District 3 Representative); Officers were sworn in by Mel Meloy.


Participation from the floor: None brought.


2006 meeting dates: Feb 1; May 3; Aug 2; Nov 1.


No further business brought forward.


Lunch today is provided by EmergiTech.


Motion to adjourn by Mel Meloy; 2nd by Brad Brubaker.